

# Sangamon County Medical Society

1337 Wabash Avenue • Springfield, IL 62704 • (217)726-5106 • FAX (217) 726-5403 • www.scmsdocs.org •

Ozma Rahman Executive Director Margarett Williams Program Director

## 2024 OFFICERS

Shreepada Tripathy, MD President Cara Vascocelles, M.D Past President Eli Goodman, M.D. Secretary-Treasurer

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Donald Graham, MD Zafar Quader, MD Dhuha Raab, DO Varun Sharma, MD Vidya Sundareshan, MD

#### EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

Jerry Kruse, M.D., MSPH Dean of SIU School of Medicine John Ridley Director, Sangamon County Dept. of Public Health

# ISMS DISTRICT V TRUSTEE

Sam Stokes, M.D.

## STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

Taylor Justison Cecily Negri Allison Sweeney Avani Yagani Hello and thank you for applying for the Sangamon County Medical Society Scholarship!

One of the primary goals of SCMS is to help our student members get the most out of their medical school experience. Participating in a conference is one such experience that we are excited to support.

So, congratulations on being accepted for going to a conference. This is a wonderful experience and we hope that it will be educational for you and helpful for your future career.

The SCMS Scholarship program is designed to help offset some of the costs of going to the conference. While it may not be for the entire cost of you going to the conference, we feel that even some funding will be able to offset some of your expenses.

Funding for this program comes from yearly dues of our members as well as generous contributions from members of the community. We aim to help as many people as we can that apply. However, preference of funding will be given to those that:

- 1) are members of SCMS (application attached)
- 2) have been approved already to attend by the Office of Student Affairs at SIU SOM
- 3) have been accepted for an oral presentation or
- 4) have been accepted for a poster presentation

This is not to say that just attendance at a conference will not be funded, but due to the limited funds of the SCMS, preference will be given to those that will be actively presenting at the conference.

Decisions for funding as well as the amount funded will be at the discretion of the Board of Directors of the Sangamon County Medical Society. Whether your specific conference is funded or not funded should not reflect on you. It is a combination of decisions, including the amount we have available, as well as others that have already been funded.

Please fill out the accompanying form that explains the conference you are going to. Should you have any questions, please contact Ozma Rahman (<a href="mailto:ozma@scmsdocs.org">ozma@scmsdocs.org</a>). Thank you and good luck.

Shreepada Tripathy MD MBA MS-SA FAAP FHM (he/him) President

Cara Vasconcelles, MD Past President